Developing Skills For Life

Benton County 4-H 

Benton County 4-H is a youth organization with a mission of engaging youth to reach their fullest potential while advancing the field of positive youth development.  It is open to all 4-12th graders.  K-3rd graders can join a non-competitive Cloverbuds program. 

There are four personal development areas on which 4-H focuses: Head, Heart, Hands, and Health.

The goal of 4-H is to develop citizenship, leadership, communication and life skills through experiential learning programs and a positive youth development approach. 

Though typically thought of as an agriculturally focused organization as a result of its history, 4-H today focuses on citizenship, healthy living, science, engineering and technology and animal science. 

The 4-H motto is "To make the best better" and its slogan is "Learn by doing".

CHANGES for 2014-2015 4-H Membership

Oregon will use the following age divisions for competitive events. (Effective Oct 1, 2014)

Cloverbud 5-8 years of age on Sept 1

Junior 9-11 years of age on Sept 1

Intermediate 12-14 years of age on Sept 1

Senior 15-19* years of age on Sept 1

*Not yet graduated from high school