Links

 

OSU Forestry & Natural Resources Extension Program Links

extensionweb.forestry.oregonstate.edu

Find your extension forester at: extensionweb.forestry.oregonstate.edu/directory

Forestry education is the mission of the OSU Extension Service, which aids all landowners, from the newest to the most knowledgeable longtime practitioners. Complex issues of forest ownership are covered through workshops, volunteers, demonstration areas and publications. Subject areas include everything from regeneration and harvest to valuing timber and market issues. Educational subjects tackle broader management objectives like enhancing fish and wildlife habitat, reducing fire risk, increasing biodiversity and achieving sustainability goals.

OSU Extension Foresters

Baker, Grant  Bob Parker, Bob.Parker@oregonstate.edu
Benton, Linn, Polk  Brad Withrow-Robinson, Brad.W-R@oregonstate.edu
Clackamas, Hood River, Marion  Glenn Ahrens, Glenn.Ahrens@oregonstate.edu
Clatsop, Lincoln, Tillamook  Jim Reeb, Jim.Reeb@oregonstate.edu
Columbia, Washington, Yamhill  Amy Grotta, Amy.Grotta@oregonstate.edu
Coos, Curry  Tristan Huff, Tristan.Huff@oregonstate.edu
Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson  Nicole Strong, nicole.strong@oregonstate.edu
Douglas  Steve Bowers, Steve.Bowers@oregonstate.edu
Jackson, Josephine Max Bennett, Max.Bennett@oregonstate.edu
Umatilla, Union, Wallowa Paul Oester, Paul.t.Oester@oregonstate.edu

 

Know your Forest

Learning Library, Calendar, Assistance Guide and more!

http://knowyourforest.org

Women Owning Woodlands Network

www.womenowningwoodlands.com
www.facebook.com/orwownet

Contact:
Nicole Strong, senior forestry instructor
Nicole.Strong@oregonstate.edu
541-829-1270

Many people are surprised to learn that 40 percent of family forest landowners are women who are increasingly taking active woodland management roles. This OSU Extension program is designed to raise basic forestry and decision-making skill levels among female woodland managers through hands-on educational opportunities. WOW-net supports and increases women’s access to forestry-related resources while encouraging communication. The statewide and local network includes 350 members in nine counties, holding local and regional field-based sessions each year.

 

Ties to the Land

www.tiestotheland.org

 

The program’s essence is to help landowners find ways to pass down their property to future generations of their family, while avoiding common pitfalls. Landowners are guided through three key areas that contribute to success: communication, planning and legal tools.  Landowners gain a clear understanding of the steps involved in passing on their land and practical tools to help them take those steps.  Ties to the Land is a partnership between Forestry & Natural Resources Extension and Oregon State University’s Austin Family Business Program, which prepares family businesses to address the challenges and opportunities that inevitably arise during succession. More information is available at www.familybusinessonline.org

 

Oregon Wood Innovation Center

www.owic.oregonstate.edu

Contact:
Scott Leavengood, director
Scott.Leavengood@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4212

OWIC’s mission is to improve the competitiveness of Oregon’s wood products industry by fostering innovation in products, processes and business systems. A key function is to serve as the primary link between university research and the needs and opportunities in the forest industry, which has undergone dramatic changes in recent years. A key OWIC tool that helps connect forest landowners and mill owners is the Oregon Forest Industry Directory (www.orforestdirectory.com), which connects buyers and sellers of forest products and services.

Share this