May 2004

May 28th

A long list of exceptional OSU animal sciences alumni and others who have given outstanding service to the state's livestock industry were honored today by the OSU Department of Animal Sciences as charter members of a new honorary association called the Withycombe Club.
Thayne Dutson, dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences and director of the Agricultural Experiment Station at Oregon State University has been awarded the American Distance Education Consortium's (ADEC) highest award for service, the Irving Award, in May at ADEC's annual national meeting in Kansas City, Missouri.

May 13th

Sujaya Rao, an assistant professor in the Crop and Soil Sciences Department at Oregon State University, is the winner of the 2004 Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching from the Entomological Society of America, Pacific Branch.

May 10th

An Oregon 4-H project called "Corroboree" is helping Oregon elementary school students from Salem and Milwaukie reach around the world to share results of natural resource science projects with school children in Australia.

May 3rd

Oregon State University scientists have received dozens of patent claims for a new technology that uses variable radio frequencies to pasteurize and prepare foods as diverse as surimi, alfalfa sprouting seeds and turkey hotdogs.