October 2004

October 22nd

Thirty-one men and women who have been agricultural innovators, educators and community and organizational leaders will be honored as 2004 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences at a luncheon on Oct. 21, 2004 at the OSU Alumni Center in Corvallis. Separate award stories for each community included.
The Oregon State University Extension Association (OSUEA) and OSU Extension Service honored its top educators at a recent awards ceremony on the OSU campus, where recipients received recognition for outstanding work in Extension education, communication and leadership.

October 15th

The Oregon State University Extension Service honored several Friends of Extension and outstanding Extension Cooperators during an Extension conference held recently at OSU.

October 8th

Two animal scientists from the Oregon State University Extension Service recently returned from a September trip to the former Soviet Republic of Uzbekistan. They went with a big task — to help Uzbekistan livestock ranchers increase production. Scarcity of resources and lack of technology pervaded Uzbekistan cattle production.

October 6th

Pacific Northwest wine drinkers still prefer their wines from bottles sealed with corks, according to a recent study at Oregon State University’s Food Innovation Center in Portland. And, they are willing to pay more for red wine with a “real” cork.
A soil scientist at Oregon State University has discovered that adding additional organic matter to Oregon’s forest soils may actually increase rather than hinder the release of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Researcher Elizabeth Sulzman’s findings fly in the face of what scientists believe about long-term carbon storage by soils and their potential role in ameliorating global climate change.

October 1st

The Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development program celebrated its 100th year of service to the state’s young people by inducting 100 outstanding 4-H supporters and leaders into the newly created Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame.