Oregon 4-H faculty honored for outstanding service

June 21, 2004

CORVALLIS - Four Oregon State University Extension Service faculty members have been recognized for outstanding career accomplishments in service to the Oregon 4-H Youth program.

Cindy Osterlund, OSU Extension 4-H regional field faculty in Gilliam and Wheeler counties; Jim Rutledge, OSU Extension 4-H Youth program leader; and Beverly Hobbs and Mary Arnold, OSU Extension 4-H Youth specialists, will receive national service awards at the National Association of Extension 4-H Agents National Conference in Oklahoma City later this year, according to Virginia Bourdeau, OSU Extension 4-H Youth specialist.

Jim Rutledge is receiving the 2004 Oregon Meritorious Service Award for his extensive contributions to 4-H Extension beginning in 1971 when he was a county 4-H agent in Wisconsin. Rutledge came to OSU as a 4-H Program Leader in 1994.

Cindy Osterlund and Beverly Hobbs will receive Oregon Distinguished Service Awards. Osterlund was cited for outstanding service in creating 4-H curriculum and coordinating county 4-H programs. Hobbs is nationally known, both in and out of 4-H, as a leader in developing outreach programming for Latino youth and their families.

Mary Arnold will receive the Oregon Achievement in Service Award for her leadership in 4-H program evaluation.

The National Association of Extension 4-H Agents is a nationwide organization dedicated to furthering the professionalism of 4-H educators. The association annually gives awards to 4-H Youth educators throughout the United States who have distinguished themselves in their career achievements. The four Oregon members were selected by their peers in the Oregon 4-H Agents Association.

Author: Bob Rost