OSU calls for entry in 2005 art about ag competition

September 16, 2004

CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences is hosting its 23rd annual art competition, which this year is titled "Art About Agriculture Tour 2005: On the Subject of Food."

"The college seeks art submissions focused on the food we eat, the origins of food, the pathways food takes to markets and tables, and how food inspires our imaginations to create 'the best things we've ever tasted,' said Shelley Curtis, curator of OSU's annual Art about Agriculture tour.

The competition is open to artists living in Alaska, British Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Student artwork is not eligible. All media in the visual fine arts and traditional crafts will be considered, said Curtis.

Entries must be mailed with a postmark dated no later than Friday, Dec. 17 (2004), or can be hand-delivered and received by OSU by noon on that day. Mail or deliver entries to: Art About Agriculture, College of Agricultural Sciences, 127 Strand Agriculture Hall, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR 97331-2213.

Tour 2005 exhibit hosts are the Giustina Art Gallery, OSU; Interstate Firehouse Cultural Center, Portland; and other locations in Oregon, to be announced.

Jurors will include John Maul, OSU Department of Art; Conrad J. "Bud" Weiser, OSU professor emeritus and former dean of the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences; and Phyllis Yes, chair of the Art Department and dean of Arts and Humanities, Lewis and Clark College. They will select artwork for Tour 2005 and grant more than $4,000 in purchase and honor awards.

The Tour 2005 prospectus is available by mail by sending a postcard with your name and mailing address to: Art About Agriculture, Oregon State University, 127 Strand Agriculture Hall, Corvallis, OR 97331-2213; via the web Art About Agriculture and by e-mail request to Shelley Curtis.
For questions, e-mail or call Art About Agriculture curator Shelley Curtis at 541-737-5534.

Author: Carol Savonen
Source: Shelley Curtis