OSU college of ag sciences to honor Hillsboro leader

October 21, 2004

CORVALLIS - Arnold "Dale" Scheller of Hillsboro, is among the 31 men and women to be honored as 2004 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

Dean Thayne Dutson will welcome the 21st class to the college's Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry during a luncheon Thursday, Oct. 21, in the OSU Alumni Center in Corvallis. Speaker will be former State Rep. Tony Van Vliet.

The registry started when the college observed its 75th anniversary as a way of recognizing the agricultural and community achievements of those 75 and older.

Scheller is a past president of the Oregon Dairymen's Association and helped start the "Dairy Beautification Program" that lasted 20 years. Cited both for his leadership in the dairy industry and in the community, Scheller was nominated by John Leffel, OSU Extension agent emeritus.

In the late 1960s, Scheller was the first dairy farmer in Oregon to install and use a fully automatic milking parlor. Later he was instrumental in obtaining and maintaining a working milking parlor at OMSI.

He served as president of the Washington County Holstein Breeders Association and on the boards of the Washington County Dairy Herd Improvement Association and the county chapter of the Oregon Dairy Breeders Association.

Serving twice as president of the Washington County Fair Boosters, Scheller was a founder of the Hillsboro Kiwanis Club that adopted several programs highlighting agriculture. He also served twice as club president. In addition, he served as a board member of the Hillsboro Downtown Businessmen's Association for more than 25 years and is an active member of the Washington County Historical Society and a SMART reading program volunteer.

Others to be honored include Jack Kalina, Albany; Beryl Elmore, Applegate; Maurice and Donna Johns, Athena; Howard Mader, Aumsville; Gerda Hyde, Chiloquin; Lynn Cannon, Coquille; Rodney Frakes, Norman Goetze, Roy Hathaway and Harry Mack, Corvallis.

Gordon Stanley, Eagle Point; Morris Culver, Eugene; Gerald Terjeson, Helix; Bob and Suzanne Jepsen, Merlyn Robinson and Shirley Rugg, Heppner; David Burkhart, Hood River; Frank Fobert, Hubbard; Delores Scott, Jordan Valley; Alan Withers, Paisley; Donald Hawkins and Stan Timmermann, Pendleton.

Robert and Virginia Vogel, Talent; Virgil Ellett, The Dalles; Donald Michael, West Linn; Royal Brooks, Wilsonville; and Cecil Pierce, Fallon, Nevada.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Mason