OSU college of ag sciences to honor Klamath county resident Gerda Hyde

October 21, 2004

CORVALLIS - Gerda Hyde of Chiloquin, a local, state and national leader in the livestock industry, is one of 31 men and women to be honored as 2004 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

Dean Thayne Dutson will welcome the 21st class to the college's Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry during a luncheon Thursday, Oct. 21, in the OSU Alumni Center in Corvallis. Speaker will be former State Rep. Tony Van Vliet.

The registry started when the college observed its 75th anniversary as a way of recognizing the agricultural and community achievements of those 75 and older.

Hyde operates the Yamsi Ranch near the head of the Williamson River, with her husband Dayton. She was nominated for the honor by the OSU Department of Animal Sciences, the Klamath County Cattlemen's Association and the Klamath County Extension office.

She is a past president of the Klamath County Cattlewomen and the Oregon Cattlewomen. She was president of the American National Cattlewomen in 1987. She has also served on the Oregon Beef Council.

The Hydes have received national recognition for development of natural resources and superior management combining cattle ranching with fishing and wildlife, starting with a lake they created in 1967. The couple received the $10,000 Alexander Calder Conservation Award in 1992 and was also named recipients of the Outstanding Stewardship Award given by the American National Cattlemen's Association.

Others to be honored include Jack Kalina, Albany; Beryl Elmore, Applegate; Maurice and Donna Johns, Athena; Howard Mader, Aumsville; Lynn Cannon, Coquille; Rodney Frakes, Norman Goetze, Roy Hathaway and Harry Mack, Corvallis.

Gordon Stanley, Eagle Point; Morris Culver, Eugene; Gerald Terjeson, Helix; Bob and Suzanne Jepsen, Merlyn Robinson and Shirley Rugg, Heppner; Arnold "Dale" Scheller, Hillsboro; David Burkhart, Hood River; Frank Fobert, Hubbard; Delores Scott, Jordan Valley; Alan Withers, Paisley; Donald Hawkins and Stan Timmermann, Pendleton; Robert and Virginia Vogel, Talent; Virgil Ellett, The Dalles; Donald Michael, West Linn; Royal Brooks, Wilsonville; and Cecil Pierce, Fallon, Nevada.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Mason