OSU college of ag sciences honors Jordan Valley resident

October 21, 2004

CORVALLIS - Delores Scott, Jordan Valley, is one of 31 men and women to be honored as 2004 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

Dean Thayne Dutson will welcome the 21st class to the college's Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry during a luncheon Thursday, Oct. 21, in the OSU Alumni Center in Corvallis. Speaker will be former State Rep. Tony Van Vliet.

The registry started when the college observed its 75th anniversary as a way of recognizing the agricultural and community achievements of those 75 and older.

Delores Scott served 29 years as a 4-H leader in both the Junction City and Mt. Vernon communities. She was president of the Oregon 4-H Leaders Association in 1975.

Scott has devoted her energy to helping the livestock industry and young people. She and her husband, John, started their livestock business in Junction City and for several years maintained ranches in both Lane and Grant counties.

She joined the Oregon Cattlewomen in 1962 and progressively served in all county level offices in both Lane and Grant counties. She then served two terms as president of the Oregon Cattlewomen's Association.

In 1999, the Scotts sold their Junction City holdings and moved to the Jordan Valley area where they continue to ranch full time. In addition to beef animals, they maintain a herd of Shirex thoroughbred horses.

The Oregon Cattlewomen's Association, OSU Department of Animal Science and the OSU/Malheur County Extension Service nominated Scott for the honor.

Others to be honored include Jack Kalina, Albany; Beryl Elmore, Applegate; Maurice and Donna Johns, Athena; Howard Mader, Aumsville; Gerda Hyde, Chiloquin; Lynn Cannon, Coquille; Rodney Frakes, Norman Goetze, Roy Hathaway and Harry Mack, Corvallis.

Gordon Stanley, Eagle Point; Morris Culver, Eugene; Gerald Terjeson, Helix; Bob and Suzanne Jepsen, Merlyn Robinson and Shirley Rugg, Heppner; Arnold "Dale" Scheller, Hillsboro; David Burkhart, Hood River; Frank Fobert, Hubbard; Alan Withers, Paisley; Donald Hawkins and Stan Timmermann, Pendleton.

Robert and Virginia Vogel, Talent; Virgil Ellett, The Dalles; Donald Michael, West Linn; Royal Brooks, Wilsonville; and Cecil Pierce, Fallon, Nevada.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Mason