Oregon 4-H program faculty recognized for outstanding accomplishments

April 28, 2005

CORVALLIS - Five Oregon State University Extension Service faculty members have been honored for outstanding career accomplishments in their service to the Oregon 4-H Youth program.

The group will receive national service awards at the annual National Association of Extension 4-H Agents Conference in Seattle later this year, according to Virginia Bourdeau, OSU Extension 4-H Youth specialist.

Those honored are Lillian Larwood, interim program leader for the Oregon Extension 4-H Youth Development program; Janice Cowan, Baker County 4-H field faculty; Dana Martin, Crook County 4-H field faculty; Robin Galloway, Linn County 4-H field faculty; and Carole Smith, Union County 4-H field faculty and Extension staff chair.

Larwood is receiving the 2005 Oregon Meritorious Service Award, the highest award presented by the national 4-H association, for her extensive contributions to the Oregon 4-H program. She began her 4-H career in Montana, later moved to Washington, and came to Oregon in 1988 to work in the Lane County office of the OSU Extension Service. She then moved to the state 4-H office on the OSU campus to provide leadership for staff and volunteer development and international 4-H exchange programs.

Cowan and Martin will receive Oregon Distinguished Service Awards. Cowan was cited for outstanding service coordinating regional collaborative 4-H programs and teen leadership programs. Martin was honored for her leadership in 4-H youth development work at the county and regional levels.

Galloway and Smith will receive Oregon Achievement in Service Awards. Galloway received recognition for her leadership as a member of the Oregon 4-H Wildlife Stewards Program team and contributions to development of the Linn county 4-H horse camp program. Smith was cited for her management and teaching support of 4-H youth development programs and collaboration on multi-county 4-H programs.

The National Association of Extension 4-H Agents is a nationwide organization dedicated to furthering the professionalism of 4-H educators. The five Oregon award-winners were selected by their peers in the Oregon 4-H Agents Association.

Author: Bob Rost