Oregon 4-H hall of fame inducts 2005 class of 4-H supporters

July 22, 2005

CORVALLIS - The Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development program has honored 14 4-H supporters and leaders as the 2005 class of the Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame.

The 2005 inductees include 4-H volunteer leaders from throughout the state, a former campus-based OSU 4-H youth development specialist, a former 4-H field faculty member, and 4-H donors who have provided financial support.

“We created the Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame to honor those individuals who have made significant contributions to 4-H over the years,” said Lillian Larwood, OSU 4-H Youth Development specialist. Nominees are selected on the basis of the excellence of their service to 4-H. In some instances couples are selected as inductees, Larwood noted.

The Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame was launched in 2004 to celebrate the Oregon 4-H program’s 100th anniversary. The 2004 4-H Hall of Fame selection committee decided to choose 100 inductees - dubbed the ‘Centennial’ class – to match Oregon 4-H’s 100 years of service to the state’s youth.

Since then a long line of 4-H volunteers, supporters and OSU 4-H youth faculty have continually worked to provide education programs aimed at helping Oregon’s youth develop life and leadership skills, said Larwood. The Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame 2005 inductees include:

Beaver Dale Buck
Corvallis Jeri Hitchcock
Hood River Lee Foster
Lebanon Fay and Sherman Sallee
Milton-Freewater Cornelia Tellefson
Newberg John and Nancy Nyberg
Wilsonville Sam Mallicoat
Sonoma, Calif. Winnifred Fulmer

Oregon 4-H Hall of Fame 2005 members recognized posthumously are John and Edyth Bohnert of Central Point; and Walter and Florence Jaeger, Mayville.

Author: Bob Rost
Source: Lillian Larwood