Oregon 4-H names congress delegates, state award winners

July 15, 2005

CORVALLIS – The Oregon 4-H program recognized several Oregon 4-H participants for outstanding achievement at the recent 4-H Summer Conference held at Oregon State University.

Twenty 4-H members, representing OSU Extension Service 4-H Youth Development programs in 14 Oregon counties, were chosen as Oregon delegates to the 2005 National 4-H Congress – the 4-H Youth Development program’s premier annual event.

In addition, Alyssa Kershaw was selected as the State 4-H Citizenship Award winner and Stephanie Lane was selected as the State 4-H Leadership Award winner. Both Kershaw and Lane are from Tillamook.

“The 4-H Citizen and Leadership awards are presented annually to senior 4-H members whose contributions have made a difference in the lives of others and who have shown exceptional personal growth through their 4-H experiences,” said Mary Arnold, OSU Extension Service 4-H Youth development specialist.

The Oregon delegation to the National 4-H Congress will join 1,200 4-H youth from across the United States and Puerto Rico. The theme of this year’s conference, which will be held in Atlanta over the Thanksgiving weekend, is “Live, Learn, & Grow” and will focus on healthy lifestyles.

“Attending the 4-H Congress as a delegate is one of the high points of a 4-H member’s experience,” said Arnold. “While at the congress, youth participate in a program of educational and cultural experiences, community service, and opportunities to cultivate the powerful voice of youth in leadership.”

The selection of the delegation is based on the delegate’s achievement in 4-H projects, communication, citizenship, leadership, community service, and readiness to benefit from the congress experience.

This year the Oregon National 4-H Congress delegates are:

  • Astoria: Mary Green
  • Beaverton: Becca Tischler
  • Coquille: Alyssa Fortune
  • Corvallis: David Brink-Roby
  • Creswell: Micah Randall
  • Eagle Creek: Kyle Steinkamp, Liz Soots
  • Grants Pass: Christine Fudge
  • Hermiston: Kari Boettcher
  • La Grande: Elisha Gerber
  • Medford: Jacob Geroux
  • Milton-Freewater: Emily Holden
  • Monroe: Catherine Holman
  • Portland: Tara Smithee
  • Prineville: Freeman York
  • Roseburg: Vanessa Burns
  • Salem: Jennifer Pruitt, Janelle Reeves, Katharine Dalziel
  • Sandy: Jamie Carmony
Author: Bob Rost
Source: Mary Arnold