OSU College of Ag Sciences to honor four from Linn County

October 14, 2005

CORVALLIS - Helen Hays and Edwin Rohner, both of Albany and the husband and wife team of R. Grant and Genevieve Lindsay, of Shedd, have been named 2005 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

These four Linn County residents are among the 32 men and women to be added to the College’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry Thursday, Oct. 20, at a luncheon hosted by OSU Dean Thayne Dutson. Guest speaker at the luncheon will be Tammy Bray, dean of the OSU College of Health and Human Sciences. The registry, honoring achievements of those 75 years of age and older, started 22 years ago when the college observed its 75th anniversary.

Hays, of Albany, has been associated with the OSU microbiology department for more than 50 years, as a graduate student and then as a staff member. She was nominated for the registry by the department. She first came to OSU as a graduate student working part-time with cultures and testing germicides used in dairy sanitation. She joined the staff in 1955 and later advised undergraduate students and taught a microbiology class for non-majors before retiring in 1981.

Hays and her husband, Dale, established the Helen Alford Hays Women in Microbiology scholarship for undergraduates in 1990.

Rohner, of Albany, was born in the Camp Adair area and moved to the Oakville area along Peoria Road with his family in 1941. After service in the Navy, he farmed a place in the Camp Adair area as well as the Oakville farm, which he bought in 1954. He continued to farm until he retired, selling the farm to his son.

As a grass seed farmer, Rohner designed and built an early seed cleaning plant on their place. Although retired, he continues to be involved in the family operations.

R. Grant and Genevieve Lindsay also live in the Oakville area, where they established the Lindsay Family Farm. R. Grant Lindsay served on the Oregon Ryegrass Commission in the 1970s. He was a 4-H woodworking leader in the 1950s. He retired from farming in the early 1980s.

Genevieve Lindsay is a charter member of Oregon Women for Agriculture, producing the organization’s newsletter for several years. She was an active partner in the farming enterprise, often driving trucks during harvest. She is a long time member of the Oakville Garden Club.

The Linn-Benton Chapter of Oregon Women nominated Edwin Rohner, R. Grant Lindsay and Genevieve Lindsay for the Diamond Pioneer registry for Agriculture.

Others to be honored include Dan Warnock, Baker City; John Rosebrook, Beavercreek; Virgil Montecucco, Canby; Dalton Straus, Central Point; Emmett Pryor, Condon; Earl Bates, David Chilcote, JoAnn Hathaway, Richard Morita, and Clarence Venell, Corvallis; Ken Wulff, Enterprise; Duane Hatch, Eugene; Martha Jane Spratling, Haines; W. Arden Sheets and Connie Sheets, Hillsboro; Mack Birkmaier, Joseph; Donald Sands, La Grande; Glen Christensen, McMinnville; Porter Lombard, Medford; Murray Fretz, Mosier; Mathias Kolding, Pendleton; William Domes, Rickreall; Kenneth Bare and LaBrie Ritchie, Roseburg; Bill Dolan, St. Paul; Paul Dickman, Silverton; William Sandine, Temecula, CA; and Charles Stanger, Jr., Boise, ID.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin