OSU College of Ag Sciences names two Marion Co. diamond pioneers

October 14, 2005

CORVALLIS - Paul Dickman, of Silverton, and M. W. (Bill) Dolan, of St. Paul, are among the 32 men and women to be named 2005 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences. The registry, honoring the achievements of those 75 years of age and older, began 22 years ago when the college observed its 75th anniversary.

The two Marion County residents will be added to the College’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry at a luncheon at OSU Thursday, Oct. 20, hosted by Dean Thayne Dutson. Speaker at the luncheon will be Tammy Bray, dean of the OSU College of Health and Human Sciences.

Dickman started his dairy herd of registered Guernseys while in Future Farmers of America at Silverton High School. Later, he and his father, Ed, built a state of the art dairy barn for the herd. Later, the younger Dickman became one of the earliest Grade A milk shippers from Marion County.

After almost 30 years, he changed his farming operations from dairy to fruit and vegetable production. His two sons continue to produce vegetables and seed crops on the original farm.

Dickman was a founding director of the Oregon Blackberry Commission and a supporter of local and regional farmer cooperatives. He was a member of NORPAC Foods and a member and director of Wilco Farmers and Farmers Oil Co. of Mt. Angel. The Oregon Wheat Growers League recognized Dickman Farms as the 1997 Conservation Farm of the Year. His retirement “hobby” is restoring vintage tractors.

Dolan was the owner of Ernest Hardware in St. Paul, which became the largest agricultural equipment dealer in Oregon. A 1952 OSU graduate in agricultural engineering, Dolan continued his ties to OSU by serving as a director of the E. R. Jackman Foundation and on the advisory board of the Hyslop Farm of OSU’s Agricultural Experiment Station. He has served as president of the St. Paul Rodeo.

Others to be honored include Helen Hays and Edwin Rohner, Albany; Dan Warnock, Baker City; John Rosebrook, Beavercreek; Virgil Montecucco, Canby; Dalton Straus, Central Point; Emmett Pryor, Condon; Earl Bates, David Chilcote, JoAnn Hathaway, Richard Morita, and Clarence Venell, Corvallis; Ken Wulff, Enterprise; Duane Hatch, Eugene; Martha Jane Spratling, Haines; W. Arden Sheets and Connie Sheets, Hillsboro; Mack Birkmaier, Joseph; Donald Sands, La Grande; Glen Christensen, McMinnville; Porter Lombard, Medford; Murray Fretz, Mosier; Mathias Kolding, Pendleton; William Domes, Rickreall; Kenneth Bare and LaBrie Ritchie, Roseburg; Genevieve Lindsay and R. Grant Lindsay, Shedd; William Sandine, Temecula, CA; and Charles Stanger, Jr., Boise, ID.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin