OSU College of Agricultural Sciences to honor 32 diamond pioneers

October 18, 2005

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Educators, scientists, farm innovators, and organizational and community leaders are included in the 32 men and women named as 2005 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

The 2005 group will be added to the college’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry on Thursday, Oct. 20, at a luncheon hosted by Thayne Dutson, dean of the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences.

The guest speaker will be Tammy Bray, dean of the OSU College of Health and Human Sciences.

The registry honors the achievements of those 75 years of age and older. It began 22 years ago when the college celebrated its 75th anniversary.

Those honored this year, by Oregon county, are:

Baker - Dan Warnock, Baker City; Martha Jane Spratling, Haines;

Benton - Earl Bates, David Chilcote, JoAnn Hathaway, Richard Morita, and Clarence Venell, Corvallis;

Clackamas - John Rosebrook, Beavercreek; Virgil Montecucco, Canby;

Douglas - Kenneth Bare and LaBrie Ritchie, Roseburg;

Gilliam - E. Earl Pryor, Condon;

Jackson - Dalton Straus, Central Point; Porter Lombard, Medford;

Lane - Duane Hatch, Eugene;

Linn - Helen Hays and Edwin Rohner, Albany; R. Grant and Genevieve Lindsay, Shedd;

Marion - M. W. "Bill" Dolan, St. Paul; Paul Dickman, Silverton;

Polk - William Domes, Rickreall;

Umatilla - Mathias "Matt" Kolding, Pendleton;

Union - Donald W. Sands, La Grande;

Wallowa - Kenneth Wulff, Enterprise; Mack Birkmaier, Joseph;

Wasco - Murray Fretz, Mosier;

Washington - W. Arden and Connie Sheets, Hillsboro;

Yamhill - Glen A. Christensen, McMinnville;

Out-of-state honorees include:

Temecula, Calif. - William E. Sandine;

Boise, Idaho - Charles E. Stanger, Jr.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin