Five from Corvallis honored by OSU College of Agricultural Sciences

October 27, 2006

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Floyd Bolton, Allan Deutsch, John R, Davis, Harry Nakaue and Ian Tinsley, all of Corvallis, and the late Ernest K. Briskey, formerly of Corvallis, are among the 26 men and women to be honored as 2006 Diamond Pioneers Thursday, Oct. 26, in Corvallis.

They are being added to the college’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry. The registry, started 23 years ago when the college observed its 75th anniversary, recognizes the achievements of those 75 and older.

Floyd Bolton, who joined the OSU faculty in 1967 with the International Plant Protection Center, was cited particularly for his work in dryland wheat production and in international agricultural programs. After serving in Turkey with the Agency for International Development and then the Rockefeller Foundation, Bolton returned to OSU to teach the basic crop course while serving as head advisor in the crop science department.

In 1974, he began a five-year research project on dryland wheat production at the Sherman Branch Station in Moro. In 1981, he was asked to move to Kef in Tunisia as part of an OSU-AID contract. He returned to resume his research at the Moro station in 1984.

Bolton pioneered the development of a strip tiller with Northwest Tiller Company. He was also part of the research team that developed the “inversion” technique for weed control by moving the treated soil aside and planting sufficiently deep to avoid herbicide injury.

Allan Deutsch also came to OSU to work in the International Plant Protection Center in 1968. His work included bringing order to the demand for reports from Washington, D.C., and developing publications, which became the standard by which others reporting to AID were judged.

One of the hallmarks of Deutsch’s work in publications was his ability to change as the focus of the program changed and to change to accommodate new technology, such as publishing the center’s newsletter on the Internet.

Deutsch collected books and organized a weed literature collection that outdistanced anything in the United States and was only matched by a previous collection in England. Students and staff regularly use the library as Deutsch continues to make the collection better and more useful.

John R. Davis, who joined the OSU faculty in 1971 as head of the agricultural engineering department, was involved in instruction, research and intercollegiate athletics administration before his retirement in 1991 as professor emeritus in bioresource engineering. Following his tenure as department head, Davis served as director of the Oregon Agricultural Experiment Station and associate dean of agriculture for 10 years.

He served as the OSU faculty representative to the NCAA from 1971 to 1987. During that time he served as an NCAA vice president, secretary-treasurer, and finally president from 1985 to 1987. On leave of absence from OSU during his term as president, Davis returned to Corvallis to as special assistant to the president and associate director of athletics. He held the position of associate athletic director at the time of his retirement.

Davis is a former director of the Engineers Council for Professional Development and of the American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE), whose Northwest branch named him Agricultural Engineer of the Year in 1974. Davis is a member of the Corvallis city budget committee and as a volunteer bailiff in Benton County Circuit Court.

Harry Nakaue first came to OSU as a researcher in the agricultural chemistry department, but he found his permanent home in the poultry science department beginning in 1975. His research centered primarily on poultry nutrition and management.

Nakaue studied non-traditional feed ingredients and management techniques that could be used immediately by Oregon producers. For instance, in the early 1990s he studied the usefulness of grass seed straw for poultry bedding. His work showed that straw could be an important asset to the poultry industry and has been used to reduce costs.

The poultry industry recognized his work when he was declared “Scientist of the Year” by the Pacific Egg and Poultry Association in 1997.

Nakaue served twice as interim department head of the Department of Poultry Science at OSU. The second appointment ended when poultry science was merged with the animal science department because of budgetary restraints. Following the merger, Nakaue was named “poultry leader” until he retired in 1997.

Ian Tinsley began his career in agricultural chemistry and toxicology in Australia. He joined the OSU faculty in agricultural chemistry in 1957. He was named head of the department in 1991 and became director of the Bioanalytical Laboratory at the same time.

Despite a heavy administrative load, Tinsley continued an active research program, analyzing the environmental behavior of pesticides and the effects of fat in the diet upon certain types of cancer. His work was detailed in some 70 journal articles.

He has been an active member of the American Chemical Society, the American Institute of Nutrition and the Society of Toxicology.

Ernest K. Briskey, who died June 24 of acute leukemia in Waunakee, Wisconsin, served as OSU dean of agriculture from 1979 to 1986, when he resigned to become senior advisor to the Kuwait Institute of Scientific Research. He was notified of his selection to the Diamond Pioneer Registry shortly before his death.

The Diamond Pioneer program was started by Briskey as part of the anniversary celebration which also saw the School of Agriculture become the College of Agricultural Sciences. He was particularly interested in international work and established international agriculture as a division of the college and the sixth largest contractor with U.S. Agency for International Development contracts.

Another of Briskey’s legacies was the beginning of the first agriculture and natural resources fine arts program in the nation. Art About Agriculture is observing its 25th anniversary with the 2007 program.

Others to be honored are Myron S. and S. Jane Harper, Brooks; Margaret Campbell and Bill Jaeger, Condon; W. James Clawson, Dallas; Edwin (Tad) H. Miller, Jr., Louis Carlson, and Betty Graves Carlson, Heppner; Donald Rydrych and Harry Schuening, Helix; DeLane Fry, Hillsboro; Rita Swyers, Hood River; Don Logan, North Plains; Ben Holdman, Pendleton; Vernon Hulit and Ray McNeilan, Portland; Don Kruse, Roseburg; David Childs, The Dalles; Allan Pinkerton, Surprise, AZ, and Pendleton; and Edmund Zottola, Cook, Minnesota, formerly of Grants Pass.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin