OSU College of Ag Sciences honors Douglas County resident as Diamond Pioneer

October 27, 2006

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Don Kruse, Roseburg, is among the 26 men and women to be honored as Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences Thursday, Oct. 26, in Corvallis. This year’s class includes educators, scientists, and agricultural and community leaders, among others.

Kruse, nominated for the honor by the Douglas County Farm Bureau Federation, OSU animal sciences department and the Douglas County Extension staff, currently serves as vice president of the county Farm Bureau and on the boards of the Roseburg Area Chamber of Commerce and Communities for Health Forests.

He and his family grow more than 50 different crops on 650 acres. They market the produce through Kruse Farms Market, Bakery and Gift Shop in the Garden Valley area.

Kruse served for 19 years on the Roseburg school board and for eight years on the State Board of Education. His community service includes serving on the boards of the Soil and Water Conservation District, Umpqua Basin Agriculture and Water Quality, Douglas County Red Cross, Douglas County Community Hospital, Timber Community Bank, South Umpqua Bank and the State Advisory Council on Career ands Vocational Education.

The 2006 class will be added to the college’s Diamond Pioneer Registry during a luncheon hosted by Agricultural Sciences Dean Thayne Dutson at the OSU Alumni Center. The registry started 23 years ago when the college observed its 75th anniversary as a way of recognizing the achievements of those 75 and older.

Others to be honored are Myron S. and S. Jane Harper, Brooks; Margaret Campbell and Bill Jaeger, Condon; Ian Tinsley, Harry Nakaue, Allan Deutsch, John R. Davis, and Floyd Bolton, Corvallis; W. James Clawson, Dallas; Edwin (Tad) H. Miller, Jr., Louis Carlson, and Betty Graves Carlson, Heppner; Donald Rydrych and Harry Schuening, Helix.

DeLane Fry, Hillsboro; Rita Swyers, Hood River; Don Logan, North Plains; Ben Holdman, Pendleton; Vernon Hulit and Ray McNeilan, Portland; David Childs, The Dalles; Allan Pinkerton, Surprise, AZ, and Pendleton; Edmund Zottola, Cook, Minnesota, formerly of Grants Pass; and the late Ernest J. Briskey, Waunakee, Wisconsin.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin