OSU College of Ag Sciences honors three from Morrow County

October 27, 2006

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Louis A. Carlson, Betty Graves Carlson and Edwin (Tad) Miller, Jr., all of Heppner, are among the 26 men and women to be honored as 2006 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

The 2006 group was honored at a luncheon hosted by Thayne Dutson, dean of the college, in Corvallis on Thursday, Oct. 26. The Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry started 23 years ago when the college celebrated its 75th anniversary. The registry honors the achievements of those 75 and older.

Louis Carlson, a former Morrow county judge, was born and raised in Morrow County, the third generation of Swedish immigrants who homesteaded on land obtained through the Homestead Act.

While farming, he was an active member of the Oregon Wheat Growers League, serving as president in 1982. He was also active in the National Association of Wheat Growers. Another interest was the Port of Morrow. He served on the port board for ten years, including two as chair. He was elected a charter member of the Columbia Improvement District, an irrigation program still in operation.

While chair of the port commission, Carlson accompanied Governor Victor Atiyeh on a trade mission to Japan and South Korea. He also served on the boards of the Pacific Northwest Waterways Association and the Oregon Ports Association.

He became Morrow County judge in 1987, retiring after 12 years of service. A former Man of the Year of the Morrow County Chamber of Commerce, Carlson continues to have an interest in agriculture as a partner with his son, Clint, in the family wheat ranch.

Both Louis and Betty Carlson were active in Morrow County Extension programs. He served on the county Extension advisory committee for 14 years and also cooperated with OSU Extension agents in conducting various agricultural trials. Betty was active in Extension home economics programs for 25 years and also served as a 4-H leader for more than 20 years. Both were in 4-H as young people.

Like Louis, Betty Carlson is a native of Morrow County. As a young woman, she was among the 72 youth showing livestock at the first Oregon Wheat League Junior livestock show and sale then held at The Dalles.

Active in wheat-related organizations, Betty Carlson served as president of the Oregon consumer programs committee of the Oregon Wheat League and then was named chair of the national Agriculture in the Classroom committee. She represented the National Association of Wheat Growers League on the committee. She was also asked to represent the new program on a committee formed by former Secretary of Agriculture John Block. In addition to helping with the family’s wheat farming operations and volunteering in numerous roles, Betty Carlson drove a shuttle school bus for the Ione schools and was the library technician at Ione elementary school for 28 years.

Both Louis and Betty are active in the Morrow County Museum and in the restoration of the historic Hardman Community Hall.

Edwin (Tad) Miller is also a Morrow County native son. He has been living and farming the same land as his grandfather and father before him. Active in wheat industry organizations, Miller is a past president of the Morrow County Wheat Growers League and past president and board member of the Oregon Wheat Growers League.

Miller served three years as a director of he National Association of Wheat Growers and five years on the board of U.S. Wheat Associates. He also was a member of the Oregon Board of Agriculture from 1981-85.

Tad Miller, his son, Mark and grandson, Cory, are long-time supporters of OSU Extension programs in the county. They annually make land available to OSU Extension agents for large-plot variety trials that provide information of benefit to local wheat producers. The family’s interest in minimizing soil erosion brought them recognition in 1981 when Tad Miller was named the county’s Conservationist of the Year.

ln addition, Tad Miller served 15 years on the board of Morrow County Grain Growers cooperative ands numerous years on the boards of the Lexington Oil Cooperative and Farm Credit Services. A past director of the ?Morrow County Fair and Rodeo, Miller was grand marshal of the rodeo parade in 1997.

Harold Kerr, a former Morrow County Extension agent, the OSU Animal Sciences department, and the Morrow County Extension staff nominated Louis and Betty Carlson for the registry. Larry Lutcher, of the Morrow Extension office, nominated Miller.

Others to be honored are Myron S. and S. Jane Harper, Brooks; Ian Tinsley, Harry Nakaue, Allan Deutsch, John R. Dalvis, and Floyd Bolton, Corvallis; W. James Clawson, Dallas; Edwin (Tad) H. Miller, Jr., Louis Carlson, and Betty Graves Carlson, Heppner; Donald Rydrych and Harry Schuening, Helix; DeLane Fry, Hillsboro; Rita Swyers, Hood River; Don Logan, North Plains; Ben Holdman, Pendleton; Vernon Hulit and Ray McNeilan, Portland; Don Kruse, Roseburg; David Childs, The Dalles; Allan Pinkerton, Surprise, AZ, and Pendleton; Edmund Zottola, Cook, Minnesota, formerly of Grants Pass; and the late Ernest J. Briskey, Waunakee, Wisconsin.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin