OSU College of Ag Sciences names 2006 class of Diamond Pioneers

October 27, 2006

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Innovative agricultural producers, community leaders, educators, authors and research scientists are in the 2006 class of Diamond Pioneers to be honored Thursday, Oct. 26, by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

The group of 26 was honored at a luncheon hosted by Thayne Dutson, dean of the college. The Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry started 23 years ago, when the college celebrated its 75th anniversary.

The OSU registry recognizes the achievements of those 75 and older in agriculture and for their communities and the state.

This year’s honorees were nominated by OSU faculty members, local organizations and by their families. Honored this year are, by Oregon county:

Benton: Ian Tinsley, Harry Nakaue, John R. Davis, Allen Deutsch and Floyd Bolton, Corvallis;

Douglas: Don Kruse, Roseburg;

Gilliam: Margaret (Alma) Campbell and Bill Jaeger, Condon;

Hood River: Rita Swyers, Hood River;

Marion: Myron S. Harper and S. Jane Harper, Brooks;

Morrow: Edwin (Tad) Miller, Jr., Louis Carlson, and Betty Graves Carlson, Heppner;

Multnomah: Vernon Hulit and Ray McNeilan, Portland;

Polk: W. James Clawson, Dallas;

Umatilla: Donald Rydrych and Harry Schuening, Helix; Ben Holdman and Alan Pinkerton, Pendleton;

Washington: DeLane Fry, Hillsboro; Don Logan, North Plains;

Wasco: David Childs, The Dalles;

Out-of-state honorees include:

Cook, Minnesota: Edmund Zottola;

Waunakee, Wisconsin: Ernest J. Briskey.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin