OSU Extension honors staff with awards and recognition for 2006

October 9, 2006
The OSU Extension Service and Extension Association recently honored OSU Extension faculty, staff and retirees.
The OSU Extension Service and Extension Association recently honored OSU Extension faculty, staff and retirees.

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The Oregon State University Extension Service and OSU Extension Association has honored several top Extension educators from throughout the state for achievement and dedication to serving Oregon communities.

The OSU Extension faculty, staff and retirees received awards from the Gamma Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi, an Extension professional's organization.

Sharon Johnson, faculty member in the Family and Community Development program in Jackson and Josephine Counties, was awarded the Early Career Service Award for her programs on healthy aging, community nutrition and food safety.

Derek Godwin, staff chair of Extension’s Marion County office, was awarded the Mid-Career Award for his leadership of Oregon's nationally recognized Master Watershed Stewards Program.

Susan Busler, a Family and Community Development faculty member in the Lane County Extension office, is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award for her leadership in the largest Extension Homemakers program in the state.

Glenn Klein, a retired OSU faculty member in Benton County, was cited as an outstanding teacher and community leader and received the Continued Excellence Award.

Bill Braunworth, OSU Extension agricultural program leader, was this year's recipient of the Visionary Leadership Award for his innovations in program delivery, priority staffing, faculty rewards, development of working groups and integrated approaches to community building.

Doug Hart was awarded the Administrative Leadership Service Award for his leadership in Curry County and for coordinating the 4-H, Master Gardener and the family Food Volunteer programs.

Vicki Avery, OSU Extension 4-H program assistant, was recognized with a Meritorious Support Service Award for her work with the state fair, coordinating animal science projects and overseeing the 4-H dorm and her other work with 4-H summer and Know Your State Government conferences.

Extension's "BIT Mobile/Boasting Community, Family and Enterprise Vitality in Central Oregon" team won the team award for designing and building the BIT mobile, a portable technology classroom. The BIT mobile brings advanced technology to rural communities, families and enterprises. Team members include Todd Williver, Dana Martin, Teresa Hogue, Sarah Cofer, Lucas Turpin, Yogi Blodgett, Bob Rost, Tom Weeks, Roger Rennekamp, Dina Pope and Bruce DeYoung.

Ann Schauber, recently retired diversity specialist for the OSU Extension Service, received the Diversity Award for an Individual. Schauber is a national leader who worked to create inclusive communities in Extension and with their clients in communities around the state.

Ross Penhallegon, agriculture and horticulture faculty with the Lane County office of OSU Extension, received the International Service Award for his work in Kyrgyzstan with the Farmer to Farmer Program in orchard management.

Duane Johnson, retired Extension faculty member, was awarded the Retiree Service Award for his continued strong advocacy for Extension programs at the state and national levels.

Aaron Johnson, OSU Extension faculty at the Food Innovation Center in Portland, is the 2006 recipient of the Alberta B. Johnson Award for Excellence in Extension Education. He initiated and led, with his colleagues, the Northwest Food Business Startup Services, a program to help new food entrepreneurs.

Several OSU Extension staff members that have worked for OSU Extension for seven or more years won Experienced Faculty Achievement Awards, including: Jeanne Brandt, Washington County, for her work in gerontology; Carole Smith, Union County, for her 4-H work to help youth with life skills; Darrin Walenta, Union, Baker and Wallowa counties, for his work to help growers address global competition, environmental regulations and increasing production costs; and Mike Kuntz, Polk County, for his work expanding Extension's youth programs and for increasing Latino youth involvement.

OSU Extension foresters Mike Bondi, Rick Fletcher and Chal Landgren were honored with the OSU Extension Team Award for their dedicated work with local to international Christmas tree growers for the past 25 years.

For their outstanding service, OSU Extension classified employees Billie Parker and Marie Madison, were each awarded an OSU Extension Association Classified Award. Lynette Black and Nancy DeSpain were the recipients of the OSU Extension Association Program Assistant Awards.

Cory Parsons, Baker County staff chair and agriculture faculty member, was awarded the Newer Faculty Achievement Award for his work with the livestock industry.

A team working for the Lane County office of the OSU Extension Service was awarded the Oscar Hagg Extension Communications Award for its work to develop fact sheets on Extension to help decision makers understand the impact Extension programs have on the community. Honored were Shirley McSilvers, Linda Renslow, Charlotte Riersgard, Robin White, Jayne Mickles, Bob Rost and Tom Weeks.

Author: Carol Savonen
Source: Troy Downing