OSU College of Ag Sciences honors Redmond veterinarian

October 19, 2007

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Robert Huckfeldt, of Redmond, has cared for the animals of Central Oregon for 50 years as a large and small animal veterinarian at the Redmond Veterinary Clinic. He was one of 38 men and women honored as 2007 Diamond Pioneers by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences. They were added to the Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry Wednesday, October 17, at a luncheon hosted by Dean of Agriculture Thayne Dutson at the CH2M Hill Alumni Center.

OSU’s Diamond Pioneer registry began 24 years ago as a way to recognize the contributions of those 74 and older to agriculture, related fields and to their communities. Huckfeldt was nominated by the OSU Deschutes County Extension staff and the OSU animal sciences department.

Huckfeldt came to Redmond in 1957 after completing his veterinary degree at Washington State University. He is still affiliated with the clinic on a limited basis, doing mostly bovine and equine reproductive medicine and surgery. He also participates in the Oregon Veterinary Emergency Response Team (OVERT), administered by the Office of the State Veterinarian. OVERT is a nationwide program for early response to any disease or disaster situation.

He is a past president of the Oregon Veterinary Medical Association and the Oregon Veterinary Examining Board. He is a member of both the state and national veterinary medical associations and a past member of the American Association of Equine Practitioners and the Society of Veterinary Theriogenology.

Others to be honored as 2007 Diamond Pioneers are Thomas Allen, Jr., Larry Boersma, Kenton Chambers, Robert L. Stebbins, Benno Warkentin, J. Lowell Young and Tom Zinn, all of Corvallis; Don Bennett and Doug Bennett, Echo; Henry Turk, Grants Pass; John Leffel, Hillsboro.

W. L. Andersen, Independence; Doug and Janie Tippett, Joseph; Cleve and Ellie Dumdi, Junction City; Frank King and Eddie Meeker, Klamath Falls; Arleigh Isley, LaGrande; Louise Grothe and Neil (C.J.) Taylor, Lakeview; Don Denman, Medford; Everett Seagoe, Merlin; James D. Wilson, Monmouth.

Tom Uriu, Ontario; Thomas Bedell and Gene Newcomb, Philomath; William and Donna McCormack, Prineville; Betty Jo Smith, Shedd; Lawrence Fisher, Sublimity; Art and Marjorie Van Gilder, Wasco; Bill Bennett, Connell, Washington; Fred Hagelstein, Vancouver, Washington; Ellington Peek, Cottonwood, California; and William Kittredge, Missoula, Montana.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin