OSU College of Ag Sciences honors Shedd resident

October 19, 2007

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Betty Jo Smith, of Shedd, was honored as a 2007 Diamond Pioneer by the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences Wednesday, October 17.

Smith is one of 38 men and women who was added to the college’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry. The registry, in its 24th year, honors those 74 and older for their contributions to agriculture and related fields and their communities. Nominations are made by OSU faculty and staff, agricultural organizations, family members and others. Smith was nominated by Tjodie Richardson.

Smith has spent most of her life in the Shedd area. Involved with Women for Agriculture at the local, state and national levels, Smith is a past president of the Linn-Benton Chapter and served as editor of “The Cultivator,” the organization’s state newsletter. She married grass seed farmer Floyd Smith in 1951. Smith serves as county director for the OWA state board and is an active volunteer in many agricultural organizations and events and promotes the “Grass Seed Capital of the World” signs marking Linn County’s borders on the I-5 freeway.

In addition to her work with that organization, Smith has served as a 4-H leader and is working with her second generation of 4-H members. She is a founding member, and a director, of the Willamette Community Bank in Albany. She received the national Leaven Award, the highest honor given by the American Agri-Women and has been a charter member of Oregon Women for Agriculture since1969 and is still active.

Others honored as 2007 Diamond Pioneers are Thomas Allen, Jr., Larry Boersma, Kenton Chambers, Robert L. Stebbins, Benno Warkentin, J. Lowell Young and Tom Zinn, all of Corvallis; Don Bennett and Doug Bennett, Echo; Henry Turk, Grants Pass; John Leffel, Hillsboro.

W. L. Andersen, Independence; Doug and Janie Tippett, Joseph; Cleve and Ellie Dumdi, Junction City; Frank King and Eddie Meeker, Klamath Falls; Arleigh Isley, LaGrande; Louise Grothe and Neil (C.J.) Taylor, Lakeview; Don Denman, Medford; Everett Seagoe, Merlin; James D. Wilson, Monmouth.

Tom Uriu, Ontario; Thomas Bedell and Gerne Newcomb, Philomath; William and Donna McCormack, Prineville; Robert Huckfeldt, Redmond; Lawrence Fisher, Sublimity; Art and Marjorie Van Gilder, Wasco; Bill Bennett, Connell, Washington; Fred Hagelstein, Vancouver, Washington; Ellington Peek, Cottonwood, California; and William Kittredge, Missoula, Montana.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin