OSU College of Ag Sciences inducts four into hall of fame

October 29, 2007

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Four Oregonians, recognized for their close cooperation with Oregon State University and their contributions to Oregon agriculture and natural resources development and research, have been inducted into the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences Hall of Fame.

Judson Parsons, Michael Macnab, Robert Schoning and Joe Easley were honored recently by the college.

Parsons is a long-time tree fruit farmer from the Medford area and a major supporter and cooperator with the OSU Southern Oregon Research and Extension Center. He worked closely with OSU agricultural researchers in on-farm testing of new irrigation and integrated pest management techniques, and has worked diligently to conserve and protect agricultural lands in southern Oregon and across the state.

Macnab is a Sherman County native who went from the family farm to finish a degree in agricultural and resource economics at OSU. Throughout a long career in banking, Macnab has maintained close contacts with the university and served on College of Agricultural Sciences’ advisory council, OSU Foundation Harvey Ranch advisory committee and the Oregon 4-H Foundation Board. A senior vice president for West Coast Bancorp, Macnab also is director of the E.R. Jackman Board, fundraising arm for the College of Agricultural Sciences at OSU.

Schoning served Oregon and the Pacific Northwest in fisheries research and management for 34 years. His career includes service as director of both Oregon fisheries and the National Marine Fisheries Service, as well as service on numerous state, national and international boards and councils. He received OSU's Distinguished Service Award in 1987. He also has served as a member of the OSU Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station advisory board since 1997.

Easley, a fisherman by trade, has played a leading role in fisheries management and development over the past 40 years. He served as member of the Pacific Fisheries Marine Council from 1976 to 1990, and was chairman in 1985-87. He also served as director of the Oregon Trawl Commission from 1980 to 2003. Under his leadership the Trawl Commission worked closely with OSU and the OSU Agricultural Experiment Station on many seafood development projects. He also worked with the OSU Coastal Oregon Marine Experiment Station and the OSU Hermiston Agricultural Research and Extension Center to help develop the Salmon Ecology Initiative.

Author: Bob Rost
Source: Betsy Hartley