Prineville ranchers honored as 2007 OSU Diamond Pioneers

October 19, 2007

CORVALLIS, Ore. - A “powerhouse team.” That’s the way Bill and Donna McCormack of Prineville were described in their nomination as 2007 Diamond Pioneers in the Oregon State University College of Agricultural Sciences.

They are among the 38 men and women listed on the college’s Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry, at a luncheon hosted by Dean of Agriculture Thayne Dutson at the CH2M Hill Alumni Center on October 17.

The registry, now its 24th year, celebrates the achievements of those 74 and older in agriculture, related fields, and their communities. The McCormack’s were nominated by the OSU Department of Rangeland Ecology and Management.

The McCormack’s worked as a team to develop McCormack and Sons as a successful, sustainable family enterprise. The ranch has received the Trail Boss Award for the Pacific Northwest from the Society for Range Management. The award, the highest given by the society, covers Oregon, Washington and British Columbia.

The U.S. Forest Service awarded the couple its Outstanding Ranch Stewards honor as the top land stewards in the nation for their land ethic and sustainable management. They are charter members of the Country Natural Beef marketing cooperative and are also involved with their local schools, county planning, and local natural resource management agencies.

Over the years, their ranch has hosted OSU students studying range management and have granted OSU researchers permission to use their property for crop trails, water quality experiments, animal behavior studies and plant community/soils studies.

Others to be honored as 2007 Diamond Pioneers are Thomas Allen, Jr., Larry Boersma, Kenton Chambers, Robert L. Stebbins, Benno Warkentin, J. Lowell Young and Tom Zinn, all of Corvallis; Don Bennett and Doug Bennett, Echo; Henry Turk, Grants Pass; John Leffel, Hillsboro.

W. L. Andersen, Independence; Doug and Janie Tippett, Joseph; Cleve and Ellie Dumdi, Junction City; Frank King and Eddie Meeker, Klamath Falls; Arleigh Isley, LaGrande; Louise Grothe and Neil (C.J.) Taylor, Lakeview; Don Denman, Medford; Everett Seagoe, Merlin; James D. Wilson, Monmouth.

Tom Uriu, Ontario; Thomas Bedell and Gerne Newcomb, Philomath; Robert Huckfeldt, Redmond; Betty Jo Smith, Shedd; Lawrence Fisher, Sublimity; Art and Marjorie Van Gilder, Wasco; Bill Bennett, Connell, Washington; Fred Hagelstein, Vancouver, Washington; Ellington Peek, Cottonwood, California; and William Kittredge, Missoula, Montana.

Author: Len Calvert
Source: Loretta Austin