Oregon students receive state 4-H scholarships

March 20, 2009

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Sixteen high school students from across the state have been awarded State 4-H Scholarship Awards through the Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development Program.

More than 70 Oregon 4-H members competed for the scholarships, which range from $500 to $4,500. They were evaluated on their high scholastic achievement, 4-H projects and achievements, and personal essay describing their growth in 4-H.

Winners of the 2009 State 4-H Scholarship Awards are listed below.

$4,500 Martha MacGregor 4-H Scholarship

T. Brett Deedon, Lane County

$1,500 Judith Hofer 4-H Scholarship

Brittany Sanders, Marion County

$1,250 Klein-Youngberg Family 4-H Scholarships

David Baglien, Benton County

Shelbie Carmony, Clackamas County

Annie Kersting, Clackamas County

$1000 CHS Foundation Scholarship

Traci Sirotiak, Yamhill County

$1,000 Kate Thiess Memorial 4-H Scholarship

Michelle Janik, Clackamas County

$1,000 Jim Rutledge 4-H Scholarship

Jason Wetzel, Tillamook County

$1,000 Oregon 4-H Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Anna Smith, Polk County

$1,000 Anna Zollner Memorial 4-H Scholarship

Stephanie Haupt, Jackson County

$1,000 Jeanne Leeson Memorial Scholarship

Johanna Pelletier, Marion County

$500+ O. M. Plummer Scholarship

Jonathan Squires, Lake County

$500 Duane Johnson Scholarship

Elise Heidy, Gilliam County

$500 Minnick Memorial 4-H Scholarship

Evan Taylor, Jefferson County

$500 Dietz Memorial Scholarship

Marie Pedro, Umatilla County

$500 Lois Redman Scholarship

Megan Collins, Benton County

More information about the OSU 4-H Youth Development Program is available online.

Author: Judy Scott
Source: Helen Pease