Master Gardeners receive awards

August 31, 2009

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Two Oregonians have been selected to receive statewide awards for their work with the Oregon State University Master Gardener program, and 25 individuals have been recognized as county Master Gardeners of the year.

Master Gardeners are trained volunteers who share with the people of Oregon their knowledge of sustainable gardening and OSU resources in home horticulture, according to Gail Langellotto, OSU Extension urban and community horticulture specialist and statewide coordinator of the Master Gardener Program. More than 3,500 people across the state have become OSU Master Gardeners.

Betty Faller from Tumalo is the 2009 Oregon Master Gardener of the Year, awarded for her outstanding and unusual service to the program and her community as a volunteer. Faller has been a Master Gardener 11 years and coordinated the Hollinshead Community Garden for three years. She also established a garden at Healy Heights Transitional housing apartment complex for homeless and low-income families.

She has served as the central Oregon Master Gardener state representative to the Oregon Master Gardener Association and is first vice president.

Rocky Bessette of Redmond received the "Behind the Scenes" statewide award for quiet and unselfish support to the community and local chapter or the Oregon Master Gardener Association as a volunteer. Bessette has amassed more than 4,000 hours of volunteer service over 11 years. She has served as secretary of the Central Oregon Master Gardener Association for seven years, newsletter editor for three years and mentor to new trainees for 10 years.

The awards are sponsored by the Oregon Master Gardener Association in cooperation with OSU Extension's Master Gardener program.

County Master Gardeners of the Year are:

Benton County: Kathy Butler, Kathleen Coleman and Kathi Tucker
Central Oregon (Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson counties): Chris Miao
Clackamas County: Herb Davis
Clatsop County: Jane Donnelly
Columbia County: Sheryl Putnam
Coos County: Janne White
Curry County: Tom Lewis
Douglas County: Larry Sutton
Central Gorge (Hood River County): Cindy Collins
Jackson County: Clarence Wood
Josephine County: Craig and Pattye Ingram
Klamath County: Starr Cordy
Lane County: Dianne Twete
Lincoln County: Claudette Schroeder
Linn County: Sheryl Casteen
Marion County: Carol Horning
Multonomah County: Sharon Baker
Tillamook County: Jean Scholtz
Umatilla County: Annette Frye
Wasco County: Charlotte Link
Washington County: Anna Stubbs and Carol Ross
Yamhill County: Patti Gregory

Author: Judy Scott