Oregon students receive state 4-H scholarships

April 16, 2010

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Sixteen high school students from across Oregon have been awarded state 4-H scholarship awards through the Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development Program.

More than 100 Oregon 4-H members competed for the scholarships, which range from $500 to $4,500. They were evaluated on their high scholastic achievement, 4-H projects and achievements, and personal essay describing their growth in 4-H.

Winners of the 2010 State 4-H Scholarship Awards are listed below:

$4,500 Martha MacGregor 4-H Scholarship
Shelby Stepper, Cottage Grove, Lane County

$1,800 Ohling Memorial 4-H Scholarship
Joan Erwert, Woodburn, Marion County

$1,500 Judith Hofer 4-H Scholarship
Emilie Boatner, Keizer, Marion County

$1,250 Klein-Youngberg Family 4-H Scholarships
Gregory Christensen, Brookings, Curry County
Jake Reynolds, Canyon City, Grant County
Ashley Wolff, Heppner, Morrow County

$1,000 CHS Foundation Scholarship
Maza Commerford Brady, The Dalles, Wasco County

$1,000 Kate Thiess Memorial 4-H Scholarship
Shelby Von Borstel, Grass Valley, Sherman County

$1,000 Oregon 4-H Foundation Memorial Scholarship
Jahnsam Richardson, Philomath, Benton County

$1,000 Jeanne Leeson Memorial Scholarship
Natalia Fear, Grants Pass, Josephine County

$596 O. M. Plummer Scholarship
Amanda Perisho, Moro, Sherman County

$500 Duane Johnson Scholarship
Angela Despain, Mosier, Wasco County

$500 Minnick Memorial 4-H Scholarship
Jason Wallace, Gold Hill, Jackson County

$500 Dietz Memorial Scholarship
Ariana Snow, Summerville, Union County

$500 Lois Redman Scholarship
Shelby Culver, Astoria, Clatsop County

$1,000 Babe Coe Scholarship
Madison Mills, Redmond, Deschutes County

More information about the OSU 4-H Youth Development Program is available on the 4-H website.

Author: Judy Scott
Source: Helen Pease