Oregon students receive state 4-H scholarships

March 25, 2011

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Eighteen high school students from across Oregon received state 4-H scholarship awards in March through the Oregon State University Extension Service 4-H Youth Development Program.

More than 50 Oregon 4-H members competed for the scholarships, which range from $500 to $4,500. They were evaluated on their high scholastic achievement, 4-H projects and achievements and personal essay describing their growth in 4-H.

A group of 10 4-H agents and volunteers from counties across the state, led by Mary Arnold, 4-H specialist in research and program evaluation, selected the scholarship winners. Recipients of the 2011 State 4-H Scholarship Awards are listed below:

Astoria: Nicholas Agalzoff, Martha McGregor Scholarship, $2,000

Beaverton: Sarah Tensa, A. Lois Redman Scholarship, $1,500

Cove: Joseph Batty, Dietz Memorial, $500; Jordan Brown, O.M. Plummer Scholarship, $562

Corvallis: Peter Baglien, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250; Kerenza Martin, Theiss Memorial, $1,000; Mallory Trost, Judith Hofer Scholarship, $1,500

Madras: Kayla Vincent, Finalist for Coe Memorial, $1,000

Newberg: Ariana Piscitelli, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250

Philomath: Kiah Gourley, Martha McGregor Scholarship, $4,500; Kayla Thorsness, CHS Foundation, $1,000

Pilot Rock: Kylee Jensen, OR 4-H Foundation, $3,000

Salem: Rebekah Polacek, Klein-Youngberg Family, $1,250

Sherwood: Megan Biggi, Myers Memorial, $1,000; Jaylee Jordan, Duane P. Johnson Scholarship, $500

The Dalles: Makenzie Ellett, Minnick Memorial, $1,000

Tigard: Rebecca Garner, Leeson Memorial, $1,000

Tillamook: Lisa Forester, Theiss Memorial, $1,000

More information about the OSU 4-H Youth Development Program is available online.

Author: Judy Scott
Source: Helen Pease