OSU Extension history

Together, three laws — the Morrill Act, the Hatch Act, the Smith-Lever Act — established the three cornerstones of the land-grant mission: education, research, and extension.

The development of Oregon’s land-grant university, experiment stations and extension service also happened within the context of other acts nationwide.

Was this page helpful?